Book smart

I’m a thrift store nut. To me it’s a modern day treasure hunt. Here’s a recent find.

vtrhymebk
FOUND – Vtech – Classic Rhymes & Discover Book.
PRICE NEW – $12.84 at Wal-Mart, more elsewhere.
THRIFT COST – $1

Late in the Christmas shopping season (like, maybe, three days prior to) I was looking for a couple more gifts to give Big G. Nothing fancy. Just something I could smother in wrapping paper that he could attack with no worries. I found this Vtech book. It sings the opening of six different nursery rhymes. It has flashing lights. It’s colorful It works. I’m sold.

Well, this last-minute tree filler is one of Big G’s favorite “books.” He grabs it, sits in my lap, and turns the pages. He wants me to read it, and I do. And, when done, he goes back to the first big plastic page and insists, “ah-gin da-da. Ah-gin.”

A few days after Christmas, I was browsing the local Wally World toy shelves and saw a similar book. It was around $20. I looked around at other toys and was really mystified at how much a brand new shiny, colorful, talking piece of plastic goes for, especially considering it’s eventual shelf life.

For example, the Tigger I once gave Gabby. It died a horrible, horrible death, after being blindsided by a blowout diaper. Imagine how poor Eeoyre would have taken that.

Leave a Reply

