How to ruin a sweet photo


Taken by her Bonkishness, at the recent App game

I enjoy the occasional beer. Usually I partake during football season, and only because I *really* enjoy some Cottonwood Pumpkin Ale. And given that the latter is only available during the former, it’s karma, really. I don’t overindulge. I don’t chug. I don’t get, as the kids say, bombed. I just enjoy a good beer.

Well, I did.

Yesterday my preacher – a devoted man of Christ who Baptized me one year ago today – gave a sermon on his role of being a watchman. He quoted from Ezekiel, chapter 33.

8: When I say unto the wicked, O wicked man, thou shalt surely die; if thou dost not speak to warn the wicked from his way, that wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand.
9: Nevertheless, if thou warn the wicked of his way to turn from it; if he do not turn from his way, he shall die in his iniquity; but thou hast delivered thy soul.

As our watchman, our preacher said it was his job to tell us when a sin was a sin. He stepped down and said, as his first example -“Drinking beer is a sin.”

Uh-oh.

Now, I am no Biblical scholar, but my interpretation was always that the sin was in overindulging, not in piddling. Enjoying the occasional brew was no different that a soft drink or coffee. The sin is in allowing that vice to become your idol. But my preacher was in no mood for splitting hairs, or cases. No beer. (Or smoking or over eating ill food. Yes, he had a brief list).

I felt chagrined, but confident in my interpretation. Not everyone agrees with their preacher on all things, right? (I’m looking at you Obama).

But then something rather unusual happened. I’ve been attending this church for close to five years. I was married there. I was baptized there. My children are being raised there. I love being there. But something happened that has never occurred before.

After the preacher concluded his alter call and no one had a word, he looked to me and said, “Rob, will you close us in prayer?”

Me? ME??? The occasional beer drinker??? ME???

Close I did. Uncomfortable I was not. I pray often, though not in public, and this was most definitely a first. But why was I called? Why me? Then?

*SIGH* (And yes, I know this is an inappropriate reaction)

3 thoughts on “How to ruin a sweet photo

  1. Well leave it to a true sinner to bring you down with me! It was all a part of my evil plan to take that picture of you holding such an evil vice! I’m pretty sure if God could taste the sweet nectar that is a Cottonwood Pumpkin beer, he would approve.

  2. I think the key here, is interpretation. I believe that drinking in moderation is fine; I’m no bible scholar, either, but I always thought it preached against drunkenness. of course, I’m one of ‘those’ methodists that the old joke refers to: ‘what’s the difference between a methodist and a baptist? the methodist will speak to you in the ABC store’. yep, that’s me, I’ll be in there getting something, and invariably some uptight person will walk by and not return my greeting. I always just assume they’re baptist.

    we also enjoy a glass (or several) of wine frequently, often with our preacher. it was my preacher, dear that she is, who introduced me to wild blue blueberry beer. we also use wine for communion. I reckon we’re going to hell in a handbasket soon. đŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

