Kernels of conversation – No Sunday school on Wednesday

One day Gabby is being a grump. I start blowing in her face.

ME: Whhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

GABBY: Stop, da-da.

ME: Whhhhhhhhhhh!

GABBY: Stop! Don’t blow on me! I’m not a candle!

Gabby has taken a pen and drawn several “x”s on her arm, which she calls crosses. She shows them off to me at dinner one night.

GABBY: Look, dad! Look at my tattoos.

ME: Wow! Cool! Do you like tattoos?

GABBY: Uh-huh.

ME: Are you gonna get more?

GABBY: Uh-huh.

ME: Are you going to get a tramp stamp!

GABBY: (Eyes light up). Yeah!! (turns to mom) I’m gonna get a tramp stamp!

Gabby has two new hobbies – calling people on the phone and making up new words to songs. One day she calls me at work. I ask her to sing “Twinkle, Twinkle,” which she does, adlibing the last line to include something about poo-poo. She laughs.

ME:Can you sing, take me out to the ballgame?

GABBY: Take .. me out to the FOOTBALL game! Hahahahahah!

We’re eating dinner one Wednesday night – me, the Gs, the wife, the Teen and the Teen’s new boyfriend, B. We’re heading to church afterwards.

TEEN: Is Gabby going to Sunday school today?

ME: Of course not. … pause … It’s Wednesday.

B, WIFE and ME: (snicker, snicker)

TEEN: What? … I don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

