Book Meme

I’ve been tagged by her Bonkishness. The ensuing cooty rash refuses to clear up, so I relent and answer 10 questions only a bookworm would love. Thus:

1) One book that changed your life:
The Amazing Spider-Man Issue No. 251. Yeah, I know this is stretching the definition of book more than the Miami Dolphins stretch the definition of competitive football team. But this is one of the first – if not the first – comic book I ever read. It stirred a craving for all things begat by Stan Lee. It also did to my vocabulary what BALCO did to Bonds. I distinctly remember learning the words “omniscient” and “omnipotent” from Marvel.
Stupid Lion!
If that answer is too flaky, then I hearby submit the Sweet Pickles book, “Some Friend.” I haven’t read it in more than 20 years but I remember well the plot. Worried Walrus heads over to see Loving Lion to ask a favor. During his trek he worries continuously that Lion will not grant him his request. By the time he gets to the door, he has convinced himself she will say no. He knocks. She answers. Before she can even say hello, he basically curses her and stomps off.

I remember feeling so bad for Loving Lion, who did nothing but greet a friend and got verbally accosted. That story has always stuck with me whenever I find myself becoming Worried Walrus (or treated like Loving Lion).

I could go on, but won’t other than to mention recent reads “An Army at Dawn” and “What If.” They both added great perspectives for me with regard to what is happening in Iraq.

2) One book that you read more than once:
I’ve read several more than once. Stephen King’s “Tommyknockers” comes to mind. Also Tom Clancy’s “Clear and Present Danger.” And all the Harry Potter books.

3) One book you’d want on a deserted island:
Easy – “Boatbuilding: A Complete Handbook of Wooden Boat Construction.”

4) One book that made you laugh:
Al Franken’s “Rush Limbaugh is a Big Fat Idiot.” And I say this as a Dittohead since 1993. I’ve read this book at least twice, and each time I laugh myself silly. The Al Demato-SNL skit conversation is awesome! “I’m a people person!”

5) One book that made you cry:
Do audiobooks count? If so, Mitch Album’s “Tuesdays with Morrie.” The fact that Mitch does the reading adds an emotional jab.

6) One book you wish you’d written:
Any Star Trek book written by Peter David. Specifically “Vendetta.”

7) One book you wish had never been written:
Or more honestly asked – Any book I hated so much I wish the author was waterboarded. While I wouldn’t go quite that far, John Grisham’s “The Chamber” had among the worst endings I’ve encountered. He spends hundreds of pages building up to a potential conflict that, at the end, is just swept away like tailgate trash. I immediately imagined a hasty editor screaming on the phone, “Screw the big bang. We need the book to the printer’s NOW. Initial shooting for the movie is next week, your book tour stars Tuesday, and you’re already two tomes behind our agreed upon contract. So put an F’n period on it NOW!”

8 ) One book you’re currently reading:
None, I’m sad to say. I go through bouts when I become a crazed reader seeking another 400-age hit, then just as quickly I slip into a No-New-Tome period. I’m in the latter now.

9) One book you’ve been meaning to read:
Too many to count. I do have on my holiday wish list a book Instapundit recommended many moons ago – “Weapons of Choice (The Axis of Time Trilogy, Book 1).” I had it on my wish list last year, but the wife got me this instead. (And yes, that book ROCKED!)

10) Tag five people:
Blue Ridge, Gnumoon, and Lockwoods, the vactioning Southern Suburbia and the all-mighty Instapundit.

One thought on “Book Meme

Leave a Reply

