It’s a goofy thing but I just gotta say

Last Saturday I opened my eyes at 5:30ish a.m. I couldn’t get them to close again. I was awake. Only the NHL could lull me back to sleep. Since the ‘Canes weren’t playing for another 18 or so hours, I decided to get up.

The silence of a weekend morning always spooks me a bit. It was oddly cool. I thought I’d better check if the baby was still wrapped in warm swaddling blankets. So like Rambo infiltrating an enemy compound, I crept stealth-like into her room. My fear of a creaking floor was overpowered by her possibly chilling fingers. I had to stifle a laugh when I peeked into the crib. I left to get my camera and captured the sight.

Gabrielle kicking back

That’s my girl. Even when sleeping she knows how to kick back and relax. The first time we ever secured her in a restaurant high chair, she quickly swiveled to the side, tucked one leg under her and let the other hang free. It’s a habit she’s never abandoned. When we sit her in her large plastic car and push her down the street, she occasionally hooks that right leg over the side and tries to kick the sun. There’s just something about that loafin’ feeling.

I sent that photo to a friend who owns some grandchildren. She responded:

You can see she will be laid back and relaxed her whole life! I can see her riding with her girlfriend cross country with painted toenails and her feet on the dash or hanging out the convertible window!

My wife loves almost every photo we have of Gabrielle sleeping. I prefer seeing her awake. Her eyes talk more than OnStar. I can hear joy within them. Here she is an hour after the photo above, when she finally broke her slumber.

Sleepy head

When she was younger, she always woke up smiling. Seeing her reaction to a new day always inspired a certain refrain to echo in my brain:

And it’s a great day to be alive
I know the sun’s still shinin when I close my eyes
There’s some hard times in the neigborhood
But why can’t every day be just this good?

That was then. Now when she wakes she becomes a car alarm. She wants out and she wants out NOW! There’s books to find, dolls to grab, windows to stare out of and dogs to chase. There’s life beyond these tall wooden bars. I want out NOW!

I usually oblige. She’s a joy in the morning. Before long getting her up will be harder than calligraphy. Just ask sister.

Leave a Reply

